top of page


The Rural Retreat Depot Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, formed in 2011, whose mission is to Acquire, Restore, and Manage the Rural Retreat Depot for the benefit of the Community.


The Depot was purchased by the Foundation in 2011, in poor condition, and restoration began. Today, the building has an entirely new foundation, roof, and windows, while much of the original interior wall coverings and floors were restored. It is completely insulated and has a modern gas heating and air conditioning system. In addition, the Depot has a fiber-optic connection to the Internet, and the interior is fully equipped to support streaming of live events both into and out from the Depot The Depot is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Membership in the Depot Foundation is open to anyone who supports the Mission of the Depot. Applicants should print, complete and mail in this Membership form. There are no membership dues at this time.


The Depot is being operated as a Museum and Event Center. It is available to the region and community for a multitude of activities which include reunions, weddings, music events, civic meetings, and more. The Depot is home to the Evelyn Lahman History Museum, and hosts the Rural Retreat Farmers Market at the Depot. Throughout the year, the Depot produces or hosts a variety of cultural, educational, entertainment, health-related, and other community service events.


The Depot Foundation graciously accepts tax-deductible donations which are used for the maintenance and improvement of the facility, and to support our Community service offerings. Donations can be made through the PayPal "Donate" button below, or by mailing a check to: 

The Rural Retreat Depot Foundation

P.O. Box 843

Rural Retreat, VA 24368


The Rural Retreat Depot Foundation is a 501(c)(3)non-profit charity established in 2011 to acquire, restore and manage the historic Rural Retreat Depot to benefit the community, and to preserve the culture of the region.

Foundation meetings are held every other month (Suspended temporarily for Covid). Leadership meets monthly.

OFFICERS for 2019-2023
President...............................     .Frank Akers 
Vice President Facilities ........John Bloomer
Vice President Membership...Amy McBride
Vice President Volunteers.......Linda Vaught
Treasurer...............................     .Lori Guynn
Secretary................................     Brenda Atwell

DIRECTORS for 2023-2025
Phyllis Hurt
Audrey Hedrick

Amy McBride
Betsy Perkins

Jeanne Stosser

Michael Cole   276-620-2572 

bottom of page